Announcing the winners for the 2024 Tee-2-Green student scholarship program

Tee-2-Green, the leading supplier of bentgrass seed for the golf industry, has announced the winners for the 2024 Student Scholarship for Academic Achievements and Leadership Potential in the Field of Turfgrass Management at Penn State University.

“We are incredibly excited to announce the winners for our student scholarship program through Penn State University, and show how these hardworking students are the future of our industry,” said Terry Plagmann, President of Tee-2-Green. “These students are ready to change the world, and we’re honored to help them on their path to success.”

Starting in 1979, Tee-2-Green has provided scholarships for students at Penn State University because of the school’s association with the company. The first commercially successful bentgrass variety—Penncross—was developed at Penn State University in the 1950s. Providing approximately 245 awards for a total of $450,000 in scholarships to date, the scholarship program delivers $10,000 in scholarships every year.

Written directly to the students, these scholarships are intended to help them financially navigate the school year—for anything from tuition and books to room and board costs. Here are the 2024 winners:

Second Year Students

  • Diego Barandiaran Rodriguez
  • Evan Gerhard
  • Ryan King
  • Camden Macek
  • Jackson Mainse

First Year Students

  • Pablo Barragán Ferreira
  • Justin Buendorf
  • Gideon Foley
  • Chase Groelle
  • Trey Walker

Professor John E. Kaminski, Ph.D., Director of the Golf Course Turfgrass Management Program at Penn State University, standing alongside the second-year student scholarship recipients (left to right): Jackson Mainse, Camden Macek, Ryan King, Evan Gerhard, and Diego Barandiaran Rodriguez.

First-year student scholarship recipients (left to right): Pablo Barragán Ferreira, Gideon Foley, Justin Buendorf, Chase Groelle, and Trey Walker.